

Minutes of the Parish Council Meeting held on Thursday 09 May 2024 in the Small Hall of the Village Hall, Gilberts Drive, East Dean, commencing at 7.30 pm

Councillors present: Cllr P Seeley (Chair), Cllr T Bryant, Cllr G Fowler, Cllr D White and Cllr P Hill

In attendance: S Adeniji (Parish Clerk)

There were four members of the public present

C.951 Election of Chair

Cllr Bryant moved and Cllr Hill seconded the motion that Cllr P Seeley be elected Chair of the council.

RESOLVED – The motion was put to the meeting and declared carried unanimously

Cllr Seeley signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair

C.952 Election of Vice Chair.

Cllr Hill moved and Cllr Bustard seconded the motion that Cllr T Bryant be elected as Vice Chair.

RESOLVED – The motion was put to the meeting and declared carried unanimously

Cllr Bryant signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Vice Chair

C.953 Acceptance of apologies for absence: - Cllr D White

C.954 Co-options of Councillors

Members took note that there were three vacant seats on the council following the recent resignations. The Chair proposed and the Vice Chair seconded the motion that Mr Jonathan Greenway and Mr Trevor Larkin be co-opted as members of the council.

RESOLVED - The motion was put to the meeting and declared carried unanimously.

Cllr Greenway and Cllr Larkin, being present, joined the meeting.

C.955 Standing Orders

The council considered its Standing Orders and no amendments were proposed

RESOLVED – To approve and re-adopt the Standing Orders

C.956 Financial Regulations

The council considered its Standing Orders and no amendments were proposed.

RESOLVED – To approve and re-adopt the Financial Regulations

C.957 Appointment of Internal Auditor

The appointment of Mulberry & co as the Internal Auditor for the year 2024/25 was confirmed.

RESOLVED – That Mulberry & Co be appointed as the Council's Internal Auditor for the 2024/25 Municipal Year.

C.958 Planning Committee

The council reviewed the Terms of Reference of the Planning Committee, and no changes were proposed. The council reviewed the structure of the Planning Committee and agreed that all councillors should be members. Cllr Bryant proposed and Cllr Hill seconded the motion that Cllr Fowler be appointed as Chair of the Committee, and this was agreed unanimously.

RESOLVED - That all councillors should serve on the Planning Committee

RESOLVED - That Cllr Fowler be appointed Chair of the Committee

C.959 Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group

The council took note of the Terms of Reference of the Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group, and no changes were proposed.

RESOLVED – That Cllr Bustard be re-appointed as Chair of the Steering Group

RESOLVED – That Cllr Fowler and Cllr White be re-appointed as councillor members of Group

C.960 Appointment of Lead Members

The apportionment of tasks was reviewed and the following decisions were made:

RESOLVED – To appoint the following Lead Members

- Rights of Way and Highways Cllr D White (north of the A259) and Cllr P Hill (south of the A259, and Tree Warden) Cllr Hill oversees this portfolio.
- Recreation Ground Cllr G Fowler
- Environment Cllr M Bustard assisted by Cllr T Larkin
- Tree warden Cllr J Greenway
- Defibrillators Cllr T Larkin
- Social Media T.B.C

 Webmaster – the Parish Clerk (also responsible for monthly council reports in the Parish Magazine)

C.961 Other Appointments

The following appointments were review ed and re-affirmed subject to updating the Parish Emergency Response Team:

RESOLVED - That the following appointments be confirmed for the coming year, 2024/25:

a) External bodies

- Village Hall Trust by previous resolution the Chair of the Council would be the council's nominated trustee on the Board of the East Dean Village Hall Trust, ex officio;
- Sussex Association of Local Councils Cllr P Seeley
- Wealden District Association of Local Councils Cllr P Seeley
- b) Parish Emergency Response Team Cllr P Seeley, Cllr T Bryant, Cllr G Fowler and the Parish Clerk
- c) Hon. Solicitor Mr David George
- d) Pavilion Caretaker Mrs Jan Smith
- e) Custodian of the Flags Mr Graham Street
- f) Bus Shelter Mr Ron Franklin

C.962 Review of Council Policies

This item was deferred to the July or August council meetings.

C.963 Council's Bankers and Signatories

The council reviewed its current banking arrangements. Barclays Bank would continue to be the council's banker. However, some changes of signatory following the retirement of the Deputy Clerk.

RESOLVED – That the bank mandate with Barclays is as follows

- Cllr P Seeley should continue as a cheque signatory with access to view the online accounts;
- Cllr T Bryant should become a cheque signatory with access to view the online accounts;
- Mr S Adeniji, the Parish Clerk/Responsible Financial Officer, would have the authority to make payments online subject to council approval.
- Other signatories of members or officers should be revoked

C.964 Charity of the Year 2024/25

All councillors were invited to bring forward proposals for decision at a future meeting.

Annual Parish Council Minutes – 09 May 2024	

C.965 Timetable of Meetings 2024/25

The council reviewed its pattern of meetings and agreed to continue with full council meetings on the first Thursday of the month (except September), and Planning Committee meetings on the third Thursday of the month.

4

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 7.46 p.m.			
Signed	. (Chair)	Date	
