

Minutes of the Annual Parish Council Meeting held on Thursday 18 May 2023 in the Small Hall of the Village Hall, Gilberts Drive, East Dean, commencing at 6.30 pm

**Councillors present:** Cllr P Seeley (Chair), Cllr T Bryant, Cllr M Bustard, Cllr G Fowler, Cllr P Hill, Cllr H Milligan, and Cllr G Street

In attendance: K Larkin (Parish Clerk)

There were two members of the public present

#### C.739 Election of Chair

Cllr Bustard moved and Cllr Hill seconded the motion that Cllr P Seeley be elected Chair of the council.

RESOLVED - The motion was put to the meeting and declared carried unanimously.

Cllr Seeley signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair

## C.740 Election of Vice Chair

Cllr Seeley moved and Cllr Bustard seconded the motion that Cllr T Bryant be elected as Vice Chair.

RESOLVED - The motion was put to the meeting and declared carried unanimously

Cllr Bryant signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Vice Chair

- C.741 Acceptance of apologies for absence: Cllr C Lees and Mr D White
- **C.742 Declarations of Interests: -** None. Councillors handed their Declarations of Acceptance of Office and Registers of Interests to the Clerk.

#### C.743 Co-options of Councillors

Members took note that there were two vacant seats on the council following the recent general parish elections. The Chair proposed and the Vice Chair seconded the motion that Mr Graham Street and Mr David White be co-opted as members of the council.

**RESOLVED - The motion was put to the meeting and declared carried unanimously.** 

Cllr Street, being present, joined the meeting.

\_\_\_\_\_\_

### C.744 General Power of Competence

The affirmation of eligibility for the GPC was deferred pending staff changes, but it was noted that actions already begun under the GPC would lawfully continue.

## C.745 Standing Orders

The council considered its Standing Orders and no amendments were proposed

RESOLVED – To approve and re-adopt the Standing Orders

## C.746 Financial Regulations

The council considered its Standing Orders and no amendments were proposed.

RESOLVED – To approve and re-adopt the Financial Regulations

## C.747 Appointment of Internal Auditor

This item was deferred to the council meeting in June or July 2023

# C.748 Planning Committee

The council reviewed the Terms of Reference of the Planning Committee, and no changes were proposed. The council reviewed the structure of the Planning Committee and agreed that all councillors should be members. Cllr Bryant proposed and Cllr Hill seconded the motion that Cllr Fowler be appointed as Chair of the Committee, and this was agreed unanimously.

RESOLVED - That all councillors should serve on the Planning Committee

RESOLVED - That CIIr Fowler be appointed Chair of the Committee

## C.749 Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group

The council took note of the Terms of Reference of the Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group, and no changes were proposed.

RESOLVED – That Cllr Bustard be re-appointed as Chair of the Steering Group

RESOLVED – That Cllr Fowler, Cllr Lees and Cllr Milligan be re-appointed as councillor members of Group

## C.750 Appointment of Lead Members

The apportionment of tasks was reviewed and the following decisions were made:

RESOLVED – To appoint the following Lead Members

- Rights of Way and Highways Cllr C Lees (north of the A259) and Cllr P Hill (south of the A259, and Tree Warden)
- Recreation Ground Cllr G Fowler, assisted by Cllr H Milligan with special oversight of the tennis courts
- Environment Cllr M Bustard
- Defibrillators Cllr P Hill

\_\_\_\_\_\_

- Social Media Cllr H Milligan
- Webmaster the Parish Clerk (also responsible for monthly council reports in the Parish Magazine)

### **C.751 Other Appointments**

The following appointments were reviewed and re-affirmed subject to updating the Parish Emergency Response Team:

RESOLVED - That the following appointments be confirmed for the coming year, 2023/24:

#### a) External bodies

- Village Hall Trust by previous resolution the Chair of the Council would be the council's nominated trustee on the Board of the East Dean Village Hall Trust. ex officio:
- Sussex Association of Local Councils Cllr P Seeley
- o Wealden District Association of Local Councils Cllr H Milligan
- b) Parish Emergency Response Team Cllr P Seeley, Cllr T Bryant and Cllr G Fowler
- c) Hon. Solicitor Mr David George
- d) Pavilion Caretaker Mrs Jan Smith
- e) Custodian of the Flags Mr Cliff Hirchfield

#### C.752 Review of Council Policies

This item was deferred to the July or August council meetings, when a rolling programme would be devised with the new Parish Clerk

### C.753 Council's Bankers and Signatories

The council reviewed its current banking arrangements. Barclays bank would continue to be the council's bankers. However, some changes of signatory would be required.

RESOLVED – That the bank mandate with Barclays be updated as follows

- Cllr P Seeley should continue as a cheque signatory with access to view the online accounts;
- Cllr T Bryant should become a cheque signatory with access to view the online accounts;
- o Mr S Adeniji, the new Parish Clerk/Responsible Financial Officer, would have authority to make payments online subject to council approval.
- Katrina Larkin would continue to have authority to make payments online subject to council approval;
- o Other signatories of members or officers should be revoked

## C.754 Charity of the Year 2023/24

All councillors were invited to bring forward proposals for decision at a future meeting.

# C.755 Timetable of Meetings 2023/24

The council reviewed its pattern of meetings and agreed to continue with full council meetings on the first Thursday of the month (except September), and Planning Committee meetings on the third Tuesday of the month.

Annua	I Parish Council Minutes – 18 Ma	ay 2023 	Page 4
	RESOLVED - That the pattern of meetings should continue as before  There being no further business the meeting closed at 7.03 pm		
	Signed	(Chairman) Date	